Skip to content

Is it going to eat me?

July 24, 2012

The other night I called my dad on the phone, usually our typical conversations include the same old questions and comments about golf league, school, work, horses etc.  This time however, our conversation was much different.  This phone call mostly consisted of me crying and complaining about going to school and working too much.  I asked him what I should do because I love working and not having to worry about money, but my plate felt too full. 

My father who has been in a management position since he graduated college in 1982 is very good at settling my young naïve emotions and has never failed to provide me with good advice.  To answer my question he started out with a little story about an animal in the wild.  He explained that an animal in the wild has to worry about finding food, water, shelter, providing for their young and many times they have to go days without eating.  In addition, an animal in the wild also has to worry about being eaten by a bigger stronger animal on top of his basic survival needs.  After this story he tells me that he goes to work, often bombarded (probably due to playing golf) and feels like he will never catch up, however always seems to accomplish every task with 105% effort.  I made the connection where he was going with this but I let him explain on and make the connection himself.

This is likely one of the best pieces of advice I have ever received.  He asked “Is it going to eat you?” To expand on this one-liner, if the answer is no then there isn’t a need to panic or stress over the situation. Simply organize your thoughts, put your work in priority order, get some coffee (in my case, accompanied by a bottle of creamer) and get to work.  You will be finished before you know it.   

I can apply this simple statement to any difficult situation which I am confronted with; it could be something like too much homework, too much work, or even something related to running, like a hill too steep.    When I am in a situation I ask, “Is it going to eat me?” if the answer is no, then bring it on!

I suggest to anyone who feels threatened by having to write a paper, read a textbook, or start a new project to ask yourself, “Is it going to eat me?” Likely the answer will be no, and coming to the realization that your actual life is not in jeopardy will take some weight of your shoulders. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment